These Jars of Clay

Photo from Chicken Julie

I have a confession.  I want to can food.  I have for 2 years now.  And each time I think of it, I’m unprepared to get the equipment fast enough before my fresh market season ends.  I mean, Florida heat does not produce much fruit.  We’ve got citrus.  We’ve got strawberries.  But the last 2 summers I have watch frugal, hard-working moms and wives in other states whip up amazing jars of harvested carrots, beans, pickles along with jams, syrups and sauces.  I even found one who would make large batches of lentil soup and can those!  I see them dehydrating tomatoes, making homemade tomato sauce and I see those jars lined up on shelves, sparkling in the light, revealing what bounty with-in…and I think of this verse:

But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. (2 Cor 4:7)

This treasure refers to the grace and salvation we find in Jesus, as told in the previous verses.  How Christ shines in our hearts and is apparent to those who see it…for saving or for perishing.  And while the verse talks of clay jars…a part of me wonders if glass is just as appropriate.  Because like the clay it’s moldable under some conditions, breakable under others.  It’s an imperfect vessel.  It helps me wrap my mind around how I’m to be transparent to the world around me; showing the light and love of Jesus within.  There are some not so good-looking things inside my own jar, but the love and grace of Jesus can still be on display as He sanctifies me.

Will I ever get to my canning?  I’m sure I will.  In the meantime, I hope this jar shows the the surpassing power of God.

One thought on “These Jars of Clay

  1. Love reading your new blogs!! When I’m back in Florida I’ll show you all of the ins and outs of canning. I’ll even get you started gardening so that some of your main staples become nearly free. Florida just has a flip flopped season. Winter grows and summer takes a time out.

    I will tell you though. You can grow blueberries at your house. I grew some before we moved to Vermont. Danfinch.com has a great selection of cheap, low chill (less then 150 chill hours required), good quality bushes. I selected my varieties but if I had to do over again, I’d just get the collection for the added savings.

    I also had 3 apple trees at our Florida house. I got them from treesofantiquity.com. They require more care but I did start to get fruit just a we moved. I got a pomegranate and almond tree from these people too.

    I love noursefarms.com too. I got my thornless blackberries from them. They also have asparagus which I’m pretty sure you’d love!

    Bottom line, there’s more to enjoy in that inferno climate with a little research and a little getting dirty. 🙂 I’d be happy to share my experience once I’m back.

    Xoxo Love,
    Coco 😀

Leave a Reply

