Blessings

It hasn’t been too many days since I wrote of my hatred of being a grown up.  In that post I wrote of losing some hard-won successes in finances that disappeared in a series of unfortunate events: mis-calculation in our budget, lack of needed overtime, and a whopper of a medical bill.  The realization of it all happening with a looming mortgage payment and nothing left to pay it.  Except our budding emergency fund.  And my kids’ homeschooling fund (Classical Conversations).  It is a reasonable fee for the 24 weeks we meet but it is all due at the beginning of the year.  Actually, in less than 2 weeks.  So, it was a big hairy deal to let it go with the full understanding that unless my wonderful husband could work enough overtime rapidly…there was virtually no chance we were going to be able to do it this year (as a group; I would’ve followed as much as I could at home).  It’s always hard explaining to your kids that life got in the way of something they enjoy so much.  But I had begun to do it with my eldest, Sabrina.  I wanted to start preparing her for the possibility of it not happening this year.  Her response?  That’s okay, Mommy.   Your still going to teach us.  We can save again and start back next year.  The blessings that can come out of the mouth of a child!  It helped me to let it go.

My Pastor’s wife shared with me a wonderful, encouraging passage from Joel (which I unfortunately have never read!).  I didn’t know then that it was going to become prophetic.

Joel 2:24-26 

 “The threshing floors shall be full of grain;
the vats shall overflow with wine and oil.
I will restore to you the years
that the swarming locust has eaten,
the hopper, the destroyer, and the cutter,
my great army, which I sent among you.
 “You shall eat in plenty and be satisfied,
and praise the name of the Lord your God,
who has dealt wondrously with you.
And my people shall never again be put to shame.

I loved the picture of the barren wasteland; all the grain and grass eaten, everything else destroyed…by His choosing.  Why?  So He can restore it all back, and we can praise His name.

Praise Him!  Through my husband’s job, overtime and an unlooked-for bonus, we are blessed to be able to pay for our home school group!  And, perhaps, begin to rebuild our emergency fund.  Would I praise Him if He hadn’t done this?  Yes.  For He has dealt wondrously with me.

2 thoughts on “Blessings

Leave a Reply

