One of those weeks

Have you seen this photo floating around Pinterest? I guess it’s supposed to be inspirational…a yucky lump of coal and the beautiful diamond made by long-term stress and pressure.  Unfortunately, long-term stress and pressure doesn’t have that effect on me.  THIS is way more truthful!!  Because it’s been one of those weeks.  I can count the hours on one hand that I’ve seen my husband in a conscious state (lots of hospital nights overtime), VBS, 2 consecutive nights of pain and insomnia and a broken filling and consequential drilling.  With half of my head throbbing, I spent my after dinner hours chopping veggies for tomorrow’s bulk meat run before heading to the last day of VBS.  I have really enjoyed being with the kids but it’s some evil twist of providence that makes THIS very week of constant noise and kids be the one week my husband is offered 2 extra night shifts.  I was banking on some “honey can you take the kids” moments!  But, alas, instead, it’s a lot of  But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a person (Mt 15:18) moments.  Because all the pressure just squeezes out the ugliness present in my own heart, so that the words I’m saying are short-tempered, impatient and ugly. I feel like Eeyore with a perpetual sad expression and mood.  Each morning I’m hopeful I won’t feel that way by the end of the day and by 3 o’clock in the afternoon I’m ready for bed.

I know this week is almost over and I am thankfully getting a short kid-free break while I bulk cook on Saturday.  But more importantly, I’m thankful that it’s times like these where I can cling to such promises as this:

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. (Mt 11:28)

Leave a Reply

