The coming storm…

Have you ever watched change creeping across time…inching closer to you like a thunderstorm?  New job, no job, a new baby or graduating high school or college and moving on to the next stage.  You just can’t see what is beyond the storm.   You can formulate your best plans and options but deep down you are constantly turning back to that ever-creeping front wondering will my plan work?  

I’m a big planner.  Most of my plans fall flat but for whatever reason they help my mind have a boundary to work in.  I like my fences.  But there have been several times where God has knocked them down in the midst of the storm of life so that I can hide in the shadow of His wing (Ps 17:8).  Much of homeschooling and being a stay at home mom has been like that.  I have made school plans, schedule plans, chore plans and meal plans.  And then I went through several months of severe, painful illness that buried all those plans.  If I could leave my house for a few hours, it was a good day.  Most, though, were not.  Hours of pain, counting the minutes for the next dose of medication, suddenly nothing but breathing made any sense.  We lost a lot of plans those months; as a family, my own plans personally.  Thankfully there came an end to those months of pain and I was able to start picking up my fences.  It was a lot harder to pick them up than it was to maintain them.  But I look back at that horrible time and I see some very valuable lessons I learned through them.  The biggest being, will I accept only good from my Lord?  He who endured all things on the cross, can I look at Him and say, no, I will not endure this pain?  Don’t misunderstand, I and my husband were grief-stricken during this time, clinging desperately to the presence of God and the Word of God for our hope in all our desperate cries of Why?  I don’t know what storm is approaching you or battering you and my heart hopes that the end of it is near.  But God is faithful, even in the midst of it, the depth of it and the breadth of it.  He, if you are His child, will never leave you nor forsake you.  And that, my friend, is a solid rock to take shelter upon.

Scars and struggles on the way
But with joy our hearts can say
Yes, our hearts can say

Never once did we ever walk alone
Never once did You leave us on our own
You are faithful, God, You are faithful —lyrics from Never Once, by Matt Redman

2 thoughts on “The coming storm…

Leave a Reply

