Late to the party

I’m pretty behind on the hip stuff.  I used to be hip…I used to know when movies were coming out, what the coolest toy or show was, new music…whatever.  But, since we stopped having cable more than 3 years ago, I have lost touch with much of the hipness.  Before you question my sanity, I have Netflix and just recently, Hulu Plus, so I do have the ability to watch things.  But most of it’s without commercials so movies, shows, and toys I’m blithely unaware of.  Same thing with music.  I don’t typically use the radio in my car.  Not since I got my first iPhone and heard about Pandora.  So when my kids and I jam out in the car, it’s to Will Smith’s “Gettin’ Jiggy With It” from oh, what 10 years ago?  Yeah, I’m late to the party!

So the most recent party I’m late to is Phineas and Ferb. This has been the talked about kid cartoon at my church…by non-kid people!  Since I was tired of hearing SpongeBob I decided one day to try P and F.  Immediately I saw the draw!  What sibling hasn’t had this kind of relationship with each other?  And any show that successfully turns a platypus into a spy agent is just genius.  The evil nemesis is not too dark for kids, which is helpful for my youngest boy who loves these kinds of shows but gets scared still from the bad guys.  My favorite part of the whole thing is that these 2 brothers actually do stuff.  It illustrates a different path than sitting in front of Xbox all summer long.  They create, imagine and play hard.  And that’s an example I want for my kids…not necessarily creating a 40 foot roller coaster in the back yard and tormenting their sister but seizing the day since summer (life!) doesn’t last forever.  And while there is this struggle between brothers and sister, in the end, they help each other out as much as they annoy each other.  So, maybe you’re like me, late to the party and behind the times…but if you’re looking for a cartoon to watch with your kid that will appeal to you as much as them…take a look at Phineas and Ferb.

I’m gonna go back to rocking out with Will Smith now.

Leave a Reply

