Called to make disciples

jGo therefore and kmake disciples of lall nations,jbaptizing them minnthe name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them oto observe all that pI have commanded you. And behold, qI am with you always, to rthe end of the age.” Mt 28:19-20

Sometimes we need to go back to the basics. Church on Sunday brought this text as we had a missionary guest speaker. While he was talking in general about the body of Christ making disciples, God was convicting me of losing sight of this. Being at home can tend to make you more introverted and tighten your sphere of relationships since there is no workplace with which to bring your faith to. I do fully believe that at this time my primary work of evangelizing and discipling are my children. But it should not be exclusive to my children. I should be making some effort to minister and bring the gospel outside of the home. It is too easy for me to constantly surround myself with such similar situation people and then while I may have fellowship, I am not fulfilling the greater call to make disciples. I can excuse this and say I don’t have time at this stage in my life, or I’m not around individuals who do not share my faith but the example of Christ is intentional involvement. And so many times I choose casual instead of intentional.

As a Christ-follower, I don’t have the ability to put off this command of my Lord. I obey or I am sin. And I would say I’m in sin because I know I’m not fulfilling this command to the degree I could. Thankfully, His grace abounds. I hope to prayerfully be more intentional in my relationships and to seek a greater opportunity to share Christ to those that I do know that do not share my faith and to get serious about discipling others and seeking my own mentor to disciple me. How it looks at this stage in my life will surely be different than singlehood or when my children are older, but in the end, the results will be obedience to my Lord and growth in grace myself.

Leave a Reply

