June Cleaver I’m not

I honestly have no idea.  Domesticity is not a word that comes to mind when people describe me.  I’m no “dinner is hot on the table when you get home” wife.  I’m usually stepping on Legos or gleefully sucking them up with the vacuum cleaner after I’ve stepped on them.  There’s cobwebs in the corners of my laundry room.  My kids have named the random flies that come in our house “Clark”.  Up until this last month, I’ve never made loaf bread or canned any fruit or jam.  I’m still much more likely to buy it than make it…whatever “it” is.  I’d rather be out of my house than in it.  A potentially deadly problem as a homeschooler, I know, but nevertheless, true.

Still, there’s hope for me.  Because necessity is a tough teacher.  Rising costs, choosing to sacrifice this for that, wanting to be June Cleaver at least in some aspects has pretty much forced me to learn some domestic skills.  I’m happily baking my own bread.  Every once in a while, I astound my family with a truly delectable meal.  I may even get to eat it hot sometimes.  And I’m at least staying home for the majority of the school hours we strive to do.  It’s not my talent, or my personality or even my nature.  But as I stare into Scripture and meditate on the Proverbs 31 woman I see what I want to be for my husband, my family, my God.  And while baking, sewing, housekeeping, homeschooling and doing it all with beauty (ever tried cleaning in a full skirt?!) is not required of me…having a husband that trusts me, doing him good, working with willing hands, bringing in food and provisions, possessing strength and wisdom, helping the needy, engaging in profitable productivity and teaching are.  However can I do it?  How can any woman do it?

But he said to me,My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2 Cor 12:9)

Isn’t it a wonderful thing that we are not left to what we have always been or are today?  That we can grow, mature and change by the grace of God?  Even to such mundane things as housekeeping or whatever work we find ourselves in.  I’m not left to the rut that is my nature or personality or habits.  And that is a truly wonderous thing.

4 thoughts on “June Cleaver I’m not

  1. I hear you! I am not the cleaner of the house but I can cook with the best of them! Please close your eyes while you enjoy this meal! Hahahah We all have our strengths and we work on our weaknesses.

Leave a Reply

