Helper

It’s such a mundane word.  Helper.  If someone is to describe me I’d much rather have funny or bold or dynamic…but helper?  It just seems so….not enough.  Maybe that is why I can chafe in my God-given role as helper to my spouse.  It just seems so…blah.  Shouldn’t I be more?

Deep down, the fault of it all is my poor understanding of what a helper is.  I think, Oh, I just helped him do it.  And it seems so casual.  But, God has a much broader scope of what a helper is…and we women, myself included, should see what astounding model we have for it.

By addressing the Holy Spirit as a helper, Jesus forever elevated the position of the one who assists. Trace the Holy Spirit’s actions through the New Testament, and you’ll find the Spirit repeatedly encouraging, comforting, coming alongside, and helping. The work of the Holy Spirit, the Helper, is beautiful!

DeMoss, Nancy Leigh (2008-10-31). Becoming God’s True Woman (Kindle Locations 1836-1838). Good News Publishers/Crossway Books. Kindle Edition.

Woah.  How did I miss this connection?  I mean, I knew the Holy Spirit was identified by Jesus as the Helper.  But to connect the work He does to the work I do?  The helping/submitting relationship I have with my husband is not demeaning or mundane.  Just like the work of the Holy Spirit in the hearts of people is vital and necessary for Jesus to be acknowledged and received, so is my work of helping and respecting my husband.  His success is my success.  It is my deeply fulfilling role to do what is necessary to make my husband successful.  Not in our Americanized view of wealth and possessions (although we are to manage wisely such things), but in the success of knowing God, making Him known and cultivating growth in my spouse. In helping my husband gain favor in the eyes of God and of man (Luke 2:52).  It is the delight of the Spirit to point us to the Son and the delight of the Son to bring us to the Father.

May this be me for my husband!  May it be my goal to delight in serving, helping and loving him; and through it, knowing I’m serving and obeying my God.

 

Leave a Reply

