Gettin’ Wooly

Felted wool dryer balls.  Have you heard about these things?  Two weeks ago I hadn’t.  Now, they bounce around in my dryer and I love them!  Technically, they are for those who are concerned about having the ingredients of dryer sheets or fabric softener on their clothes or skin.  At least, that is what I mainly saw when I started looking at them.  But, my big interest was in saving some cash…and these puppies can bounce around your dryer effectively reducing dry time for up to 5 years!  Hello savings!  No dryer sheets to buy?  No fabric softener?  And even a 10-15$ reduction in dryer costs would make the 18$ I spent to make them worth it! 

For those of you, like me, who like the smell of fresh laundry you can sprinkle these pigs with Essential Oil in the scent of your choice to lightly (and I mean lightly) scent your clothes.  I’m still working on that.  I grabbed lime at my local holistic store thinking it would be a great choice but it’s very faint.  Still, I’m sure it’s just a matter of finding a stronger and longer lasting scent that I want my laundry to smell like.

You can find one of many DIY instructions here.  I chose to just use the wool yarn and not the roving wool…as long as it’s 100% wool either is fine.  If you are going to do it, the general recommendation is 4 balls per average dryer load.  I made 6 for 18$ with a clearance on the colored wool and a 20% off total at my local Joann’s.  These would make a great homemade gift for a new mom drying cloth diapers as they recommend not using dryer sheets or softener on them since it reduces absorbancy.

Leave a Reply

