I want beautiful feet

The most precious gifts that I am working on for the Lord Jesus every single day of my life are my children.

DeMoss, Nancy Leigh (2008-10-31). Becoming God’s True Woman (Kindle Locations 2472-2473). Good News Publishers/Crossway Books. Kindle Edition.

This chapter was specifically for the nurturing role of mothers.  Yet, even if you aren’t a mother, there is the understanding that all women are to be encouraging and admonishing younger believers in the Lord as our spiritual children.

And this one sentence revealed a whole lot of sinfulness in myself.  Because, frequently this truth is lost in the hustle and bustle or the dreary mundane of life day in and day out.  I forget these little souls are my most precious gifts and I will stand before my Lord and give an accounting for my motherhood.  Am I redeeming the time I have with them for the glory of the Lord?  If my life ended tomorrow, would the biblical examples, the gospel I’ve shared with them and the love I’ve given them be a testimony and a heritage for their future?  I cannot by anything I say or do make them believers…it is entirely dependent on the Holy Spirit working in their hearts.  But by my nurturing them in the ways of the Lord, I lay a groundwork for the Holy Spirit to use.

How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!”

(Romans 10:14-15 ESV)

Leave a Reply

