He Reigns

As I write this, our nation is in the final race of our next presidency.  I am not good at staying up late, so I will be finding out the results tomorrow of this very polarized event.  And there is a lot I could write as I close out my night about this day, yet the thing that comforts me and causes me to rest and trust, is the knowledge that Jesus Christ, our King, reigns at the right hand of God.  Tomorrow’s results He already knows.  His purposes are already planned and laid, for His glory and His kingdom.  It’s impossible for our finite minds to grasp it.  Nothing is out of His grasp, nothing surprises Him, nothing is beyond His wonderful, beautiful redemptive grace.

I was thinking today of all the evil kings, regimes, dictators and rulers throughout history (we were reviewing a lot in school) and I was reminded of King “Nebby”. Wicked and glory-stealing, he wound up losing his kingdom and roaming as a beast of the fields for a few years.  When God’s punishment for stealing His glory was finished, he professed some wonderful verses of praise and truth on the power and glory of God:

At the end of the days I, Nebuchadnezzar, lifted my eyes to heaven, and my reason returned to me, and I blessed the Most High, and praised and honored him who lives forever,
for his dominion is an everlasting dominion,
and his kingdom endures from generation to generation;
all the inhabitants of the earth are accounted as nothing,
and he does according to his will among the host of heaven
and among the inhabitants of the earth;
and none can stay his hand
or say to him, “What have you done?”
(Daniel 4:34-35 ESV)

No matter the outcome tomorrow or any day; He reigns.  Soli Deo Gloria!

Leave a Reply

