Recognizing Obscurity

I have a problem.  I’m drowning in obscurity while thinking I have the ability to become notorious.  Notable.  Historic.  That somehow, I will achieve some great faith or legacy or name for myself that I won’t be forgotten within the generation of my children.  Perhaps you share this problem with me.

Obscurity is defined as the quality or condition of being unknown.  And I see that and begin my internal bluster…well, I’m known in my church, in my home school group, my family, friends, even friends around the world and now through this very blog.  But bluster it is.  If I total all those people…what is that?  100?  200? Out of 8 billion estimated on Earth right now?  I resonate with this quote from the book:

The trouble with you and me and the rest of humanity is not that we lack self-confidence (as we’re told by the world) but that we have far too much self-importance. The thought of being just another of the roughly one hundred billion people to have ever graced this planet offends us— whether we realize it or not. We have such a high opinion of ourselves that to live and die unnoticed seems a grave injustice.

Anonymous (2012-09-20). Embracing Obscurity: Becoming Nothing in Light of God’s Everything (p. 10). B&H Publishing Group. Kindle Edition.

This is a huge blow to the depths of my heart in thinking I have anything to offer.  That I can get my name somehow recorded forever in history.  And then, once realized, there’s a great relief of pressure to perform.  If my own personal days are like grass…the wind passes over it, and it is gone, and its place knows it no more (ps 103:15-16), then I can truly find my identity in Christ alone, whose dominion and kingdom is forever and always.  Without embracing this, my pride will always strive to make a name for myself rather than humbly serve in obscurity glorifying God’s name.

Would you be willing to remain nameless, offering up your meager portion to your Savior, with no promise of return or guarantee of notoriety, but in complete obedience allow God to work His miracle through your small “lunch”? That’s what embracing obscurity is all about: being content with being “relatively unknown” so that Christ can be made more known.

Anonymous (2012-09-20). Embracing Obscurity: Becoming Nothing in Light of God’s Everything (p. 13). B&H Publishing Group. Kindle Edition.

The funny thing about this is that willing or not; 99% of all of us are going to be nameless and have no notoriety anyway. The end is the same; but the life He gave can be one of living sacrifice (Rom 12:1) or raging against the One who gave it.  Which do I choose day-to-day?

Leave a Reply

