Faith of a child

Thanksgiving Day brought trial to my family.  Oh, sure, there was the normal hostess trials to be found but we had additional trauma to deal with only an hour or so before family descended.

In an effort to burn some energy off our kids before they were required to have “company manners” we took them all down the road to ride skateboards and a Big Wheel for Jake. I am by nature a giant grace-less clutz so I sat in a lawn chair and provided the end boundary of riding.  We all know the saying…it’s all fun and games until someone gets hurt.  My sweet girly, a graceful and talented skateboarder even at this age, was goofing off and performed a YouTube worthy scorpion wipeout.  It’s the term for feet-over-head falls.  By nature these are head first falls; her’s was face first.  I was up and running before I could even see her face…I knew it was bad.  Her upper lip caught the edge of the board, slicing the inside of the lip deep enough to justify stitches (though we didn’t get them), deeply abraiding the upper lip and under the nose while the cheek and eye got the road rash from the pavement.  Blood, shock, a mild concussion.  My husband being an EMT and I being a nurse, we quickly had her cleaned although it took several hours before memory returned and the mild hysteria wore off.

However, it was the following day, getting into the car that she let her faith shine.  I was gently talking about how people will stare and some will ask what happened.  I wanted her prepared in case we ran across anyone rude enough to be mean but to know that those who simply ask or stare just do so out of curiosity, love, sympathy etc. She laughed a little and said, Well, I miss my regular Sabrina face but this was in God’s plan so there’s good in it somewhere.  And I was speechless with her faith.  Simple.  Honest.  Trusting.  Beautiful.

Sometimes, as adults, we complicate the issue.  We want to know where the good is in our suffering.  The why.  The how to get out of it.  And she modeled to me true child-like faith in her Lord, not worrying with those things, just trusting.  And I want to be just like her.

4 thoughts on “Faith of a child

  1. Celest Puls says:

    Before Sabrina came in to our Sunday School class, I told the kids she had fallen and hurt her face. They were very sympathetic and understanding. One boy told her he liked the medicine on her face because it shined like glitter.

Leave a Reply

