I agreed to what?!

Last week in our Classical Conversations community the announcement was officially made about my new role as a Foundations/Essentials Director for our area’s new community for 2013.  All last week I got email after email as we are getting geared up for new registration and interest meetings.  Tasks, reminders, chores, jobs, names and events are all flowing together.  I’m very excited to see how God is going to use this in my life, my family’s life and our area for His glory.  Yet, as I see the tasks unfolding before me, my fears of failure tend to resurface and I sit be-fuddled and confused…what did I just get myself into?

Is this not what happens when you take on something new?  No matter how much knowledge or information you may have before you make the decision to do it, there is much that later threatens to steal away the wonder and joy of it all.   Now eyes are on me.  How will I respond?

In faith and grace.  I hold firmly in my heart that I will fail the majority of expectations. I look at the wonderful director who is mentoring me through the process and know I will not be able to duplicate her.  Thankfully, I know God called me to this job and as I humbly seek to serve Him, He will direct my steps.  This will be a challenge.  No doubt, I will be doing things that will require humility and the servant-leadership of Christ…which all must come from Him.  And as long as the torch is mine to hold, I want to be worthy of the call.  Not working out of my own strength, but the strength, grace, and forgiveness in failure that He gives.

“To know God and to make Him known.”

Leave a Reply

