Blessings

It’s been one of those mornings where pajamas and cartoons have ruled.  With my nose buried in a good book, I’ve allowed my children their fill of Curious George, Transformers and Wonder Pets.  Some days, you just need the break.

Yesterday we were blessed with a large free order of steaks.  And I do mean blessed…not only in it being free but in its size and quality.  A bulk order was refused by a customer but it could not be shipped back to the processing company in time before spoilage.  A friend of mine was given the call to offer the meat to her and she called me to share it.  The down-side was it was up in Tampa and between the 2 of us we have 5 children.  Luckily, she has a van and we spent our Wednesday driving up there and back and then butchered together the 4 racks of 20 rib sections in my kitchen.  It was one of those days where my kids sacrificed their fun time for the understanding of homemaking and providing for our family.  It was a great lesson for my daughter, who got to see that as a mother and homemaker sometimes an opportunity comes to provide for your family but it requires effort and sacrifice.  She watched us make the drive, helped us entertain the little ones and observed my friend and I as we researched ways to cut the meat and struggle with it.  And she got to taste the results of it.

Opportunities like I had yesterday are more than a blessing for my pocket-book or my family’s stomach.  It’s a way to declare the wonders of God to the next generation…how He has provided us with the means to richly feed our family but also to share that with others in fellowship.  It’s one of the moments I rejoice in homeschooling not because I can choose my curriculum or protect my children from harmful influences but because they get to see and partake of the roles they will one day have.  She will, Lord willing, one day be a wife and mother.  And while I am not a perfect homemaker, wife or mother, she will have watched and been a part of many experiences to help shape her in those roles.  My boys were a part of it all as well, and while younger and less observant, these examples will continue to be before them.  They will have more wisdom to pursue a woman who will work and sacrifice as a wife than just a pretty face.  They may not choose it, but they will have it nonetheless.

It’s been a week of many, many blessings and I praise God for them.  He is faithful, ever faithful.

 

Leave a Reply

