Fierce Love

Love is laying it all down in order to truly give rather than take. But this kind of love, true love, can only be birthed through the grace that is the fruit of humility.

Wagner, Kimberly (2012-08-24). Fierce Women: The Power of a Soft Warrior (p. 112). Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition.

Love is the house we enter through the door of grace, using the key of humility.  It’s not a mushy, frail human emotion but rather the power by which God works through us.  It’s what compelled Him to send His Son to die for us and that is the same example we are to follow in our love for others: the kind of love that dies to self.

The crucified life enables you to bear the fruit of love, which only comes through the humility of dying. Letting go, laying down your life, in order to pick up the cross to die allows Christ to live and love through you.

Wagner, Kimberly (2012-08-24). Fierce Women: The Power of a Soft Warrior (pp. 113-114). Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition.

Our strength does not lie in our abilities, talents or occupations.  It isn’t found in our ability to multitask or manipulate.  Our strength is found in embracing our brokenness due to sin (humility), crying out for God’s unmerited favor (grace) and living out of the love He provides.  When we are gripped by these truths of the gospel, the hurts, failures and grievances of others, while painful, open doors for us to live out God’s love to them. It’s not the actual I’m going to die for you in a real life situation, but the daily I’m going to see all your mistakes, failures and sins and by God’s grace I’m going to love you like He loves me.  It’s dying to ourselves that God calls us to.

And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it.
(Luke 9:23-24 ESV)

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.
(Galatians 2:20 ESV)

 

 

Leave a Reply

