Half time is over

I’ve been chewed out by the coach. Heard the pep talk. Reviewed the failed plays and have a new game plan for the second half. The buzzer has rung…half time is over, folks.

And…that’s pretty much the end of my sports terms. Not my forte, really. But summer is half over and I’m starting the second half with a better plan. No. I’m starting with an actual plan. Because I certainly planned failure the first half by not having one. Those days of flying by the seat of my pants? GONE! Summer, a new job, family vacations and oh…three kids constantly in my face asking me What fun things are we doing today? when all I wanted was coffee and a book for half the day (don’t I get a summer too???). It’s all reminded me why I home school those little cherubs year round…what ELSE is there for them to do all day but rot their brains or drain my bank account?

But, no more am I failing to plan appropriately for the summer training for my job, the summer schooling for my kids and the summer . In general, I’m eeking my way out of the sewers of despair and the it’s not fair poopy-pants. I vetoed the reading on Fierce Woman this weekend in favor of getting fierce over my life. The plans have been set, schedules have been arranged, I’ve gotten the necessary curriculum to implement my plans and the 3 hours of cartoons in the mornings will stop! This is the declaration of good intentions, folks, and we all know what road is paved with them. I’m sure in a month I’ll be limping back to share the failures of my new plans but right now they are fresh and the necessary life-line to reclaiming order amidst the chaos that is my life right now. God-willing, it will open some better times in His Word because I’m actually planning to spend some time in His Word before the kids get up and the school day begins. (Mornings and I have a love/hate relationship…)

I’m not done with the plans and the goals but the first steps have been made. I have some household managing re-vamp to do and scheduling a little personal exercise and fun into my calendar. I also have work stuff to get in there. But, the biggest part is done and for the first time this summer I feel like I’m actually planning my days instead of my days planning me. The roller coaster is at the top of the descent, there’s the pregnant pause where the brakes let go, hands go up and down we fly!! (Excuse me while I puke…).

Leave a Reply

