Too comfortable…

I like comfort.  Comfortable clothes, comfortable food, comfortable friends. Unfortunately, as I have been thrust into some uncomfortable new roles, I’m finding myself idolizing those things that have been comfortable.  Things that a month ago wasn’t an idol or an issue have suddenly become so.

 I look at my own life, confessing my own idols of what’s comfortable to me instead of pursuing His will or His ministry.  My failure to pray diligently for my children’s’ hearts because I’m proud and lazy. I don’t want to see my own sinful role in their behaviors.  My grudging willingness to do the hard things…whining like the Israelites in the desert, yearning for the comfort of slavery instead of the new freedom God has given them.  My fear/rebellion of doing new things that I know He’s calling me to do…because it’s new and I don’t want to be seen failing or floundering.  It’s all signs of an ugly heart too comfortable in its sin.  

I am thankful that God’s grace abounds over sin; still, there’s more to it, and I think I’ve forgotten that.   I don’t get a blanket cover saying anything is ok…confession is necessary but it isn’t the end.

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age, waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all lawlessness and to purify for himself a people for his own possession who are zealous for good works.
(Titus 2:11-14 ESV, emphasis mine)

Repentance is needed.   Turning from ungodliness, living self-controlled and godly in the strength of my Redeemer who is working to purify me for His own possession.  Grace is comfortable…I’ve been forgiven by His blood.  But repentance is the uncomfortable task I must pursue.

What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it?
(Romans 6:1-2 ESV)

Leave a Reply

