Bouquet of newly sharpened pencils

My favorite time of year is here.  I love back to school stuff.  I always have.  While other girls were excited for their back to school wardrobe, I was itching for the new pens, pencils and notebooks.  Book covers…freshly made out of paper bags.  I personally find it horrific that they make vinyl ones now but even in scholastic products progress must be made.

Between graduating college and homeschooling children I had no reasons to buy them.  I would walk through Target or Wal-Mart during the back to school sales and try to think of reasons I needed boxes of crayons and colored pencils.  But really I didn’t.  So I’d leave with a little sigh and dream of a career or job or task where I could shop those sales again, never imagining I’d do it yearly now with my kids as we stock our school room each year.  Never thinking I would be in charge of doing the supply shopping for 30 odd children, all needing pencils, scissors, and folders.  This week has been a joyous experience of walking through those isles and dreaming of what all these kids will need and getting them!  They sit in their tutor boxes, all nice and shiny and new.

Forget a bouquet of flowers.  Joe Fox in You’ve got Mail has the keys to my heart…

Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms.

Leave a Reply

