A smaller world

It’s time for a big overhaul here.

I think I was a bit overzealous when I started blogging.  Like most new bloggers, the idea of my words being seen by many and having others make comments was a bit of a heady experience.  I wanted to blog a lot.  I wanted to be read and known for having something to say.  And I enjoyed it, because I had a lot to say.

But after a while, it became harder to say stuff that would appeal to the masses.  And over the last year, my greatest desire has been to have a place to write and share freely amongst family and friends things I may not want to air out to the public.  Nothing earth shattering.  Nothing offensive.  Just not public.  And trying to sift through the things I want to share publicly became a harder thing to do as I was continually concerned with how will this come across? 

So I’m re-evaluating blogging.  I had to ask myself, what am I doing this for?  In the end, I’m doing it for myself…because I like to write.  I like to write all the stuff jumbled in my head and heart because then it helps things make sense to me.  I like having my close friends and family know the stuff that is going on…because we share life.   I’m doing it so there’s something my kids can see later.  Stuff that isn’t in the home-videos or picture albums because it isn’t pretty.  Lastly, I’m doing it for my friends and family.  We’re scattered all over the place, and I am not a phone conversation person.  But I like you knowing, really knowing, what’s going on in our little corner of the globe.  Perhaps it’s a bit presumptuous of me that you want to know what’s going on, but it makes me happy to do so.

So, I’m making my blog world a little smaller.  Invite only.  I’m hoping for the time to re-vamp its look to just be much more simple, since I’m not trying to bring strangers on-board.  Hopefully, by doing this, I can let go of the bottle-neck of thoughts and ideas and life stuff that I’m dying to get out on paper without constantly worrying if I’m offending someone or will be misunderstood.  Or if it’s too private to be made public.  Or if I’m allowing the ‘social’ media mentality to invade too much.

So let’s give this a whirl!

Leave a Reply

